top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristopher Eck

Mountain King!

This year, as a seasonal project, many of my students studied themes from In The Hall of the Mountain King by Edvard Grieg. This unique piece is like a rite of passage for musicians - it demonstrates many musical concepts and how they relate to our fingers, strings, and feelings. We also studied a bit about Grieg's life and work (1843-1907). Eight students of all ages helped me with this little playalong video to showcase our experience - it is simplified and assembled to include all levels. Some of these students have only been playing for a couple of months! And some of my more experienced students helped carry the ball forward on the repeats and create this video. The costumes are so great, I really love Halloween. Transposing to a consistent range for guitar, ukulele and mandolin was interesting, and video editing is always a challenge for me - I learned a lot from this experience too. I'm so proud of my students and grateful for my music family. Trick or Treat!





55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page